Peace Agreement Access Tool PA-X https://pax.peaceagreements.org/

Country/entity	South Sudan Sudan Southern Kordofan - Blue Nile - Abyei
Region	Africa (excl MENA)
Agreement name	Misseriyya and Dinka Ngok Conference, Conference Agreement, Kadugli
Date	13 Jan 2011
Agreement status	Multiparty signed/agreed
Interim arrangement	Yes

Sudan Conflicts (1955 -)

Agreements relate to several distinct dyads, and also the negotiated independence of South Sudan, and subsequent internal conflict in South Sudan. Sudan-South Sudan. The long-standing conflict between the north and the south of the country dates back to colonial times, where the British introduced a so-called 'Southern Policy', severely hampering population movements between these big regions. Immediately after gaining independence in 1956, southern movements started to fight for independence; this fight became professionalised in 1983 with the foundation of the soon internationally supported Sudan People's Liberation Army (SPLA). When the Islamic Front government introduced strict sharia laws in the south after it took over power in 1988 the war intensified. A decade later, the military situation reached a stalemate, enabling internationally facilitated peace negotiations to begin in 1997. After more fighting, a final negotiation push began in 2002, leading to the signing of the Comprehensive Peace Areement (CPA) in January 2005.

Sudan-South Sudan post referendum. South Sudan became independent in July 2011; since then, relations between the two countries are complicated and violent conflict led by the SPLM (North) in the Sudanese Nuba mountains region has since intensified.

Darfur. Other long-standing violent conflicts are in the east and the west of the country. In the east, the Beja Congress, established in 1957, is the spearhead of a currently 'peaceful' opposition movement. In the west, the violent conflict in Darfur intensified in the early 2000s and rapidly gained international attention, even resulting in genocide charges against leading figures of the Sudanese government. The situation on the ground is complex, with over a dozen organisations (most notably the Sudanese Liberation Movement and the Justice and Equality Movement) fighting the Sudanese government and allied groups like the Janjaweed – although all parties have switched sides on numerous occasions. Several mediation attempts have not been successful, due to the shaky commitment of the Sudanese central government and the distrust among the armed opposition.

South Sudan - internal

In December 2013, after president Salva Kiir accused opposition leader Riek Machar of attempting a coup, violent conflict broke out between government forces of the SPLM/A and anti-governmental groups. In addition, several other political militias as well as communal militias have joined the conflict. In 2015 the Agreement on the Resolution of the Conflict in South Sudan (ARCSS) was signed. Due to unsuccessful implementation the agreement was revitalized in 2018. In September 2019, Kiir and Machar agreed to establish a power-sharing government after struggles on forming a unity transitional government.

Close Sudan Conflicts (1955 -)

 Stage
 Framework/substantive - partial

Conflict nature Inter-group

Peace process Kordofan - Blue Nile - Abyei process

Parties

Signatories: Misseriya: Commissioner : Dr. Rahama Azzaz Ajaj the leader of Misseriya Delegate Amir: Mukhtar Babo Nimir Amir: Ismail Hamdien Bashtana Mohamed Salim Amir: Hamdi Al Dodo Ismail Salah Sharshar Al Doud Omda: Al Dodo Mohamed Al Ibaid Omda: Nagm Iesa Al Talib Omda: Hamid Osman Mohamed Bashier Omda: Sulieman Aibar Ibrahim Omda: Jamma'a Mohamed Jami Miraida Jigir Hamdien Abdulrahman Bakhit Musa 🔢 Dinka Ngok: Signature Commissioner: Nyon Deng Nyeok Leader of Dinka Ngok Delegate Commissioner: Nyeok Deng Dau Sultan: Zakaria Atem Fiyeen Sultan: Kual Deng Kual Sultan: Bulbul Shol Akoi Sultan: Kual Alor Makwaj Sultan: Majok Kual Lual Sultan: Beit Ajak Malual Sultan: Manjwak Manjur Fur Chief: Ashwel Ajeing Duur Chief: Shol Deng Aknon Omda: Fadlallal Dau Roy Omda: Majak Biong Jeing Chief: Agog Jwaj Shan Chief: Majak Gon Gieer Omda: Ashwel goog Dak Omda: Reng Deng Nyeok Omda: Shefeng Medieng Akoi Omda: Aguek Deng Shan Omda: Lual Myar Lual Sultan: Angelo Alle Dau 🔢 22. Media: Ajwang Ajak Arol 23. Women Representative: Mary Wol Shol 24. Omda: Beget Ashwel Bulbek 25. Sultan: Beget Makwaj Abiem Signed and endorsed on Thursday, 13th January 2011 Nyon Deng Nyeok Dr. Rahama Azzaz Ajaj Leader of Dinka Ngok Delegate Leader of Misseriya Delegate Abdel Aziz Adam Al Hilu, Deputy Governor Deputy Governor Rahama Andulrahman Al Nour SKS, Abyei Administration Conference Chairperson

Third parties Description	Page 1, The conference emerged of a generous initiative of the Government of Southern Kordofan State and Abyei Administration. The event was presided by the Deputy Governor of Southern Kordofan State in the presence of the Governor's Adviser for the Western Sector and the Deputy Governor of Abyei Administration, SKS Ministers, the leaders of the Dinka and Misseriya delegations, the State Security Committee, Representatives of the United Nations Mission in Sudan (UNMIS) and from sector four and the Dutch Ambassador among others. Agreement provides for the establishment of security and awareness along the migration paths used by Misseria bardement as well as the payment of bland measures according to
	paths used by Misseria herdsmen as well as the payment of blood money according to local custom.
Agreement document	SS_110100_Misseriya and Dinka Ngok Conference.pdf (opens in new tab) Download PDF
Women, girls and gender	
Participation	No specific mention.
Equality	No specific mention.
Particular groups of No specific mention. women	
International law	No specific mention.
New institutions	No specific mention.
Violence against women	No specific mention.
Transitional justice	No specific mention.
Institutional reform No specific mention.	
Development	No specific mention.
Implementation	Implementation→Signing or witnessing agreement Page 5, Signatories, Dinka Ngok 23. Women Representative: Mary Wol Shol
Other	No specific mention.