Peace Agreement Access Tool PA-X https://pax.peaceagreements.org/

Country/entity Ethiopia

Kenya

Region Africa (excl MENA)

Agreed Minutes of the Second Meeting between Ethiopian Southern Nations, **Agreement name**

Nationalities and People's Regional State and Kenya's Rift Valley Province

Administrators/Commissioners together with Community Representatives, Hawassa,

Ethiopia

Date 2 Nov 2009

Agreement status Multiparty signed/agreed

Interim Yes

arrangement

Agreement/conflict Intrastate/local conflict

level

Stage

Local conflict in the Kenya-Ethiopia border regions (2009)

The conflict between the Turkana people, and the Nyangatom and Dassenach people in Turkana North District, northwestern Kenia, is rooted in access to shared natural resources, especially water and grazing rights. This longstanding source of conflict in the Ethiopian-Kenyan border areas is now characterised by a continuous sequence of equivalent retaliation between the pastoralist groups, oftentimes in the form of cattle raiding. Increased pressure on natural resources in the region combined with the influx of automatic weapons in the 1970s have contributed to an increasingly violent conflict between the communities, resulting in wide displacements and many deaths. Indeed, the presence of assault rifles has also led to individuals acting outside the framework of community-sanctioned raids, turning communal cattle raiding into a form of organized crime. A meeting in Nakuru between representatives in October 2009 saw the resolution of recovering the 800 Nyangatom herds of cattle which were held by Turkana pastoralists. However, this resolution fell through as five days later the Nyangatoms raided the Kibish area in Kenya. The cycle of intermittent violence is persisting. Close

Local conflict in the Kenya-Ethiopia border regions (2009)

Framework/substantive - partial

Conflict nature Inter-group

Peace process Kenya-Ethiopia local cross-border talks

Parties

KENYAN GOVERNMENT REPRESENTATIVES

- 1. S.O. WARFA PC RIFT VALLEY AND HEAD OF DELEGATION
- 2. S.M. MWADIME OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT
- 3. R.A. ONYANGO OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT
- 4. FRANCIS M.MUNYAMBU PPO RIFT VALLEY PROVICE
- 5. P.N. NJORE REGIONAL COORDINATOR, RIFT VALLEY
- 6. DICKSON L. MAGOTSI OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT/NSC CEWERU
- 7. DOUGLAS G. KARANJA PROVINCIAL AP COMMANDER
- 8. NDUNGU WA IKONYA OCPD TURKANA NORTH
- 9. J.O OBUO D.C. TURKANA NORTH
- 10. F.K. KIPSANG DCIO, TURKANA NORTH
- 11. HELLEN GICHUHI MINISTRY OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS
- 12. HON. BOAZ KAINO, MP PARLAMENTERIAN
- 13. HON. JOSHUA KUTUNY, MP PARLAMENTERIAN
- 14. HON. RAPHAEL LETIMALO, MP PARLAMENTERIAN
- 15. JOHN WANYOIKE SELECT COMMITTEE SECRETARY
- 16. GILBERT NG'ENO KENYAN EMBASSY IN ETHIOPIA

KENYAN COMMUNITY REPRESENTATIVES

- 1. EKAL MERESIA DPC/VICE CHAIR
- 2. PHILIP LOBOLIA DPC MEMBER
- 3. NAPEYOK EIPA DPC WOMEN REPRESENTATIVE
- 4. JOSEPHAT EWOI CHIEF, MEYAN LOCATION
- 5. GEOFFREY EKAI CHIEF, KAREBUR
- 6. GEORGE LONYALA ELDER TODONYANG
- 7. PETER ACHELE PEACE MONITOR
- 8. JOSEPH LAMEKWI PEACE MONITOR
- 9. ROBERT ASURUT ELDER
- 10. EZRA L. LOCHOKA CHIEF, KOKURO

ETHIOPIAN DELEGATES

- 1. H.E. ATO SHIFERAW SHIGUTIE PRESIDENT OF SNNPRS/HEAD OF DELEGATION.
- 2. ATO ADMASU ANGO SNNPRS HEAD JUSTICE
- 3. ATO WODO ATO POLICE COMMISSIONER
- 4. ATO ASFA ABIYU HEAD OF SECURITY ADMINISTRATION OFFICE
- 5. ATO KASSA G/YOWHANS MINISTRY OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS
- 6. ATO ZELALAME ASIRAT HEAD DIASPORA AND PUBLIC RELATIONS OFFICE SNNPRS
- 7. ATO EKAL NETIR CHIEF ADM, NYANGATOM DISTRICT.
- 8. ATO LOSIYA ERGUDO CHIEF ADM. DASSANECH DISTRICT.
- 9. ATO TSEGAYE MULUNEHE HEAD OF SOUTH OMO POLICE OFFICER
- 10. AGEAZI BRHANE MINISTRY OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS
- 11. ZELALAEM AMADO MINISTRY OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS
- 12. GETACHEW TOROCHI HEAD OF SOUTH OMO ZONE JUSTICE AND SECURITY
- 13. NIGATU DENISA CHIEF ADMINISTRATOR NYANGATOM DISTRICT
- 14. TEDIWOS LEBEN DASSANCH DISTRICT JUSTICE AND SECURITY.
- 15. COM. DEMEKE ENDALE DASSANCH DISTRICT

POLICE COMMISSIONER

- 16. JON ACHIEHIYU JUSTICE & SECURITY NYENGATON
- 17. SIJIN TEKILU KFILE POLICÆ260MMI§SION REPRESENTATIVE NYANGATOM
- 10 HON MD VMOKE VIKE MD ETHIODIVI

Third parties OBSERVERS

TIGIST HAILU CEWARN/IGAD
TEEMET BEKELE CEWARN/IGAD
BELAY G/HIWOT CEWARN/IGAD

Description Meeting between Kenyan and Ethiopian officials, along with community representatives

with a view to ending criminality, including cattle rustling.

Agreement KE_EH_091102_Agreed Minutes of the Second Meeting.pdf (opens in new tab)

document Download PDF

Women, girls and gender

Participation No specific mention.

Equality No specific mention.

Particular groups of No specific mention.

women

International law No specific mention.

New institutions No specific mention.

Violence against

women

No specific mention.

Transitional justice No specific mention.

Institutional reform No specific mention.

Development No specific mention.

Implementation Implementation→Signing or witnessing agreement

Page 5, LIST OF PARTICIPANTS, KENYAN COMMUNITY REPRESENTATIVES

...

3. NAPEYOK EIPA DPC WOMEN REPRESENTATIVE

Other No specific mention.