Country/entity	Bangladesh Chittagong Hill Tracts
Region	Asia and Pacific
Agreement name	Agreement between the National Committee on Chittagong Hill Tracts Constituted by the Government and The Parbattya Chattagram Janasanghati Samity
Date	2 Dec 1997
Agreement status	Multiparty signed/agreed
Interim arrangement	Yes
Agreement/conflict Intrastate/intrastate conflict	
level	Chittagong Hill Tracts conflict (1977 - 1997)
	The conflict was between the government and an indigenous group. Bengali settlement campaigns of the Chittagong Hills Tract region during the 1970s and 1980s spurred a violent conflict in 1977 between the Shanti Bahini, assisted by India, and the Bangladeshi government. Conflict was focused on a series of grievances including economic development, national identity and respect for indigenous traditions, and self- government. The 1997 peace agreement granted limited autonomy to the region and disarmament of the JSS began in 1998, but full implementation has faced a number of difficulties. Close Chittagong Hill Tracts conflict (1977 - 1997)
Stage	Framework/substantive - comprehensive
Conflict nature	Government/territory
Peace process	Bangladesh-Chittagong Hills Tracts: peace process
Parties	On behalf of the inhabitants of Chittagong Hill Tracts SD/- (Jyotirindra Bodhipriya Larma) President Parbattya Chattagram Jana Sanghati Samit On behalf of the government of the Peoples Republic of Bangladesh SD/- (Abul Hasanat Abdullah) Convenor National Committee on Chittagong Hill Tracts Affairs, Gov

Third parties	-	
Description	This agreement sets out a framework for increased autonomous government by the tribal inhabitants of the Chittagong Hill Tracts. The agreement covers amendments to earlier legislation and provisions for amnesty and DDR of the Jana Samhati Samiti combatants; land reform; and repatriation and rehabilitation of refugees.	
Agreement document	BD_971202_Chittagong Hill Tracts Peace Accord.pdf (opens in new tab) Download PDF	

Women, girls and gender

Participation	Participation→Gender quotas Page 2, B)(Kha) CHITTAGONG HILL TRACTS LOCAL GOVERNMENT COUNCIL/ HILL DISTRICT COUNCIL: 4. a) There shall be 3 (three) seats for women in each of the Hill District Councils. On third (1/3) of these seats shall be for non-tribals.	
	Page 7, C) (Ga) THE CHITTAGONG HILL TRACTS REGIONAL COUNCIL: 3. The Council shall be formed with 22(twenty-two) members including the Chairman. Two-thirds of the members shall be elected from among the tribals. The Council shall determine its procedure of functioning. Composition of the Council shall be as follows: Chairman 1 Members Tribal 12 Members Tribal (women) 2 Members non- tribal 6 Members non-tribal (women) 1 Among the tribal members 5 persons shall be elected from the Chakma tribe, 3 persons from the Marma tribe, 2 persons from the Tripura tribe, 1 person from the Murung and Tanchangya tribes and 1 person from the Lusai, Bawm, Pankho, Khumi, Chak and Khiyang tribes. Among the non-tribal members 2 persons shall be elected from each district. Among the tribal women members 1 woman shall be elected from the Chakma tribe and 1 woman from other tribes.	
	Page 8, C) (Ga) THE CHITTAGONG HILL TRACTS REGIONAL COUNCIL: 4. Three seats shall be reserved for women in the Council, one-third of which will be non- tribal.	
Equality	No specific mention.	
Particular groups of No specific mention. women		
International law	No specific mention.	
New institutions	No specific mention.	
Violence against women	No specific mention.	
Transitional justice	No specific mention.	

Institutional reform No specific mention.

Development	No specific mention.
Implementation	No specific mention.
Other	No specific mention.