## Ceasefire agreement between the Government of the Republic of Côte d'Ivoire, the Mouvement populaire ivoirien du Grand Ouest and the Mouvement pour la justice et la paix

The Government of the Republic of Côte d'Ivoire,

The Mouvement populaire ivoirien du Grand Ouest (MPIGO)

and

The Mouvement pour la justice et la paix (MJP),

Desiring to adopt measures conducive to the establishment of genuine trust that, by means of dialogue, would create a propitious environment for the round table of Ivoirian political forces from 15 to 24 January 2003 at Paris:

- 1. Undertake to cease hostilities so as to enable the Paris negotiations to begin, during which a ceasefire agreement and a comprehensive peace agreement will be negotiated.
- 2. The ceasefire shall take effect as of midnight on 13 January 2003 and shall be observed throughout Ivoirian territory by the Government of the Republic of Côte d'Ivoire, MPIGO and MJP.
- 3. Agree immediately to remain in their respective positions.
- 4. Agree to refrain from committing or engaging in activities likely to constitute or facilitate violation of the ceasefire.
- 5. Accept the deployment of ECOWAS troops and other personnel in the buffer zone during the ceasefire.
- 6. Accept the deployment, alongside the French troops already deployed, of ECOWAS forces and other personnel throughout the territory for the purposes of monitoring and maintaining the ceasefire.
- 7. Undertake to ensure freedom of movement of persons and property, and freedom of movement of humanitarian agencies and displaced persons.
- 8. The following cases shall constitute a violation of this agreement:
  - Any introduction of arms, ammunition and other war equipment;
  - Any attacks launched by one of the parties against the positions of the other party, or any infiltrations, during or after the entry into force of the ceasefire.
- 9. Agree to take part in the round table in Paris.
- 10. Commit themselves, in good faith, to scrupulous respect for this agreement.

Done at Lomé, on 13 January 2003

For the Government of the Republic of Côte d'Ivoire (Signed) Laurent Dona Fologo

For MPIGO

(Signed) Sergeant Félix Doh

For MJP

(Signed) Commander Gaspard Deli

For ECOWAS

(Signed) Dr. Mohamed Ibn Chambas

**Executive Secretary** 

2