## JOINT DECLARATION BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES PEACE COMMISSION AND THE SIMÓN BOLÍVAR GUERRILLA COORDINATING BOARD IN TLAXCALA

## 18 March 1992

The peace delegation of the House of Representatives and the Simón Bolívar Guerrilla Coordinating Board (*Coordinadora Guerrillera Simón Bolívar*, CGSB) have held a bilateral meeting in the context of the talks in Tlaxcala. The delegation has also held talks with the government delegation headed by Peace Councillor Serpa Uribe. At its meeting with the spokespeople for the insurgent movement, the difficult and necessary path to peace in Colombia was discussed. Ideas have been exchanged regarding the legislative agenda that is currently in congress and regarding important issues such as the forthcoming tax reform and the regulations of the national constitution. The situation of regional conflicts and the urgency of providing new spaces for national reconciliation have been analysed. The commission has raised with CGSB the Congress of the Republic's concern regarding the distressing situation of Durán Quintero and Morales Ballesteros and CGSB has expressed its concern regarding the activities of paramilitary groups.

The talks have also covered the importance of regional peace talks, the bilateral ceasefire and the debate regarding the major socio-economic and political problems facing Colombia. CGSB has affirmed the importance of the permanent participation of the Congress of the Republic in the peace talks. In spite of the current difficulties, the peace delegation of the House of Representatives expresses its desire for the parties to overcome difficulties and make progress toward the negotiated solution to the Colombian armed conflict. The peace delegation of the House of Representatives and CGSB reaffirm the importance of dialogue as the means to a peaceful solution to the conflict in Colombia.

House of Representatives peace delegation:

- Jorge Ariel Infante
- Dilia Estrada

## PA-X, Peace Agreement Access Tool (Translation © University of Edinburgh) www.peaceagreements.org

- Ramiro Lucio
- Manuel Cepeda
- Alfonso López Cossio
- Gilberto Flórez

## CGSB Negotiating commission:

- Alfonso Cano, FARC
- Iván Márquez, FARC
- Pablo Catatumbo, FARC
- Guillermo Zuluaga, FARC
- Tomas Lince, FARC
- Andrés París, FARC
- Antonio García, ELN
- Luis Carlos Guerrero, ELN
- Diego Ruíz, EPL
- Asdrúbal Jiménez, EPL