## FIRST JOINT DECLARATION OF THE NATIONAL GOVERNMENT AND THE JAIME BATEMAN CAYÓN MOVEMENT

## 1 October 1995

We, the representatives of the national government and the Jaime Bateman Cayón Movement (*Movimiento Jaime Bateman Cayón*, JBC), on 1 October 1995, in the presence of the Peace Facilitation Commission and the House of Representatives Peace Commission agree to communicate the following to the public:

- Today, direct talks between the government and this political movement that is involved
  in armed conflict have been formalised to build a long-lasting peace via a new
  methodology based on the participation of all Colombians.
- We believe this process shows the country that dialogue and consensus are the means
  to resolve conflicts and overcome our differences, within a healthy atmosphere of
  tolerance and by defining specific conditions that make it possible to conduct
  negotiations and reach agreements.
- 3. In the development of the process, we believe it is essential to define an agenda that prioritises the analysis and effective and immediate application of international humanitarian law, particularly for the non-combatant population.
- 4. The process that formally begins today has the firm backing of the House of Representatives Peace Commission. The process requires the participation of all Colombians, whom we invite to take part. We acknowledge that the work of the Peace Facilitation Commission has been extremely important so far, which, with the backing of the national government, prepared the ground for contact between the national government and JBC.

Signatures:

For the National Government,

DANIEL GARCÍA-PEÑA /ARAMILLO

For the Movement Jaime Bateman Gayon,

PA-X, Peace Agreement Access Tool (Translation © University of Edinburgh) www.peaceagreements.org

JORGE ELIÉCER ZAPATA

Spokeperson

RUBEN SÁNCHEZ DAVID, ALEJO VARGAS VELASQUEZ,

Witnes.

For the Peace Facilitation Commission,

MONSIGNOR ALBERTO GIRALDO JARAMILLO, MONSIGNOR HÉCTOR GUTIÉRREZ PABÓN,

NUBY FERNÁNDEZ, ALFONSO LIZARAZO, L/ BARDO OREJUELA DÍAZ, GERMÁN ROJAS NIÑO

House of Representatives Peace Commission

JOSE MAYA GARCIA, YOLIMA ESPINOSA VERA.