NATIONAL MEETING: AGREEMENT ON THE NATIONAL ROUNDTABLE FOR NEGOTIATION AND THE NATIONAL THEMATIC COMMITTEE

La Machaca, 6 May 1999

The National Roundtable for Negotiation will be the highest decision-making authority and will be permanent. It will guide the negotiations and design and manage the process. The roundtable will comprise negotiators from the national government and those appointed by the National Secretariat of the Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia – People's Army (Fuerzas Armadas Revolucionarias de Colombia – Ejército Popular, FARC–EP). Sessions may be held in any of the municipalities that form part of the demilitarised zone. Both parties will have an equal number of participants in the roundtable, with a maximum of ten members.

The National Roundtable for Negotiation will also include a National Thematic Committee with up to 20 representatives from the various sectors of the country, which will evaluate the different proposals regarding the agenda items communicated to Colombians for consideration. The National Thematic Committee will have two coordinators, one appointed by the national government and another by FARC–EP, who will directly report the results of public participation to the National Roundtable for Negotiation. The committee will not be entitled to make commitments and will only be entitled to organise the public audiences, consolidate information, develop options and make recommendations to the National Roundtable for Negotiation.

Public participation will be implemented as required via public audiences in the various regions of the country to hear suggestions regarding the issues agreed by the roundtable. This will be complemented by a freepost mechanism provided by the national government to allow citizens or institutions representing the various sectors to send correspondence to the National Roundtable for Negotiation free of charge.

The headquarters of the National Roundtable for Negotiation will have the elements and measures required for its correct operation. A parity group of staff will work there and will permanently receive initiatives regarding the peace process.

PA-X, Peace Agreement Access Tool (Translation © University of Edinburgh) www.peaceagreements.org

In terms of the participation of the international community, it will participate as supporters or facilitators of the process. The national government and FARC–EP will jointly define the corresponding responsibilities and the appointment of figures to undertake these roles.

For the national government:

- VÍCTOR G. RICARDO
- FABIO VALENCIA COSSIO
- MARÍA EMMA MEJÍA VÉLEZ
- NICANOR RESTREPO SANTAMARÍA
- RODOLFO ESPINOSA MEÓLA

For FARC-EP:

- RAÚL REYES
- JOAQUÍN GÓMEZ
- FABIÁN RAMÍREZ