CREATION OF THE FACILITATION COMMISSION, GROUP OF FRIENDLY COUNTRIES AND INTERNATIONAL ORGANISATIONS, THE NATIONAL ROUNDTABLE FOR DIALOGUE AND NEGOTIATION, COMMUNICATION NO. 27

Villa Nueva Colombia, 9 March 2001

In a meeting held between the national government, the Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia – People's Army (*Fuerzas Armadas Revolucionarias de Colombia – Ejército Popular*, FARC–EP) and the international community, information was communicated based on a previously agreed evaluation document on the advances, difficulties, strengths and future challenges of the process. In the context of the meeting, the parties set out their proposal for the participation of friendly countries and international organisations, and agreed to provide them with regular information on the state and development of the process. In this respect, the National Roundtable for Dialogue and Negotiation has decided to create a Facilitation Commission of ten countries, which will meet every two months to receive information about the progress of the process and guide, coordinate and facilitate, among other aspects, a twice-yearly meeting with all the friendly countries to hear their opinions in the context of moral, political, economic and technical support and incentivise their cooperation through various activities.

The group of friendly countries and international organisations, which may be expanded, comprises Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Costa Rica, Chile, Cuba, Denmark, Ecuador, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Panama, Peru, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, Venezuela and the Vatican State, in addition to the Special Representative of the United Nations Secretary General and the European Commission. Of this group, the Facilitation Commission will be formed of the following countries for the time being: Canada, Cuba, France, Italy, Mexico, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and Venezuela.

The role of Executive Coordinator of the Facilitation Committee will be held by one country on a rotating basis, in line with the mechanisms adopted for its organisation and operation by the National Roundtable for Dialogue and Negotiation. For this purpose, the National

PA-X, Peace Agreement Access Tool (Translation © University of Edinburgh) www.peaceagreements.org

Roundtable for Dialogue and Negotiation will convene the Facilitating Commission on Wednesday 21 March. The roundtable expresses its gratitude to the international community and acknowledges its desire to actively form part of the process.

For the national government:

- LUIS FERNANDO CRIALES
- JUAN GABRIEL URIBE
- JOSÉ GONZALO FORERO
- MONSIGNOR ALBERTO GIRALDO
- RAMÓN DE LA TORRE
- LUIS GUILLERMO GIRALDO

For FARC-EP:

- JOAQUÍN GÓMEZ
- SIMÓN TRINIDAD
- ANDRÉS PARÍS
- CARLOS ANTONIO LOZADA