PA-X, Peace Agreement Access Tool (Translation © University of Edinburgh) www.peaceagreements.org

AGREEMENT ON THE REGULATION OF THE INTERNATIONAL FACILITATION COMMITTEE, THE NATIONAL ROUNDTABLE FOR DIALOGUE AND NEGOTIATION, COMMUNICATION NO. 28

Los Pozos, Villa Nueva Colombia, 5 April 2001

At a meeting regarded as extremely positive by the parties, the structure of international facilitation was reviewed, together with the state of the peace process. As part of the facilitation structure, the following agreements were reached regarding the commission:

- The commission will operate by consensus. Its purpose is to facilitate, upon request by the parties, developments of the process and the negotiated political solution. It will not act as a judge or a party.
- 2. There will be a coordinator country, with this position held for two months on a rotating basis. The coordinator will be the link between the Facilitation Commission and the National Roundtable for Dialogue and Negotiation. It will be responsible for organising two-monthly and twice-yearly meetings to provide information on the progress of the process. Extraordinary meetings for specific issues will be convened by the roundtable as necessary. The commission appointed Canada as the first coordinator.
- 3. The commission will act with the discretion and confidentiality befitting work of this nature. The coordinator will act as the sole spokesperson for the commission.
- 4. The commission will be entitled to hold joint meetings with the roundtable or with each of the parties separately.
- 5. The commission will act in a framework of cooperation and collaboration, which allows, insofar as possible, the development of the activities agreed by the parties.

The roundtable also presented a detailed report on the status of the process. The roundtable and the facilitation committee agreed to hold two events on international humanitarian law and the substitution of illegal crops with an international presence.

PA-X, Peace Agreement Access Tool (Translation © University of Edinburgh) www.peaceagreements.org

For the national government:

- LUIS FERNANDO CRIALES
- JUAN GABRIEL URIBE
- JOSÉ GONZALO FORERO
- MONSIGNOR ALBERTO GIRALDO
- RAMÓN DE LA TORRE
- LUIS GUILLERMO GIRALDO

For FARC-EP:

- JOAQUÍN GÓMEZ
- SIMÓN TRINIDAD
- ANDRÉS PARÍS
- CARLOS ANTONIO LOZADA