Work Programme of the Conference The London Conference 27 August 1992

INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE ON THE FORMER YUGOSLAVIA

1. The International Conference on the former Yugoslavia will remain in being until a final settlement of the problems of the former Yugoslavia has been reached. It will build on the work already done by the EC Conference on Yugoslavia, especially the documents already produced, and will be guided by the provisions of the statement of principles agreed today. The Permanent Co-Chairmen will be the Head of State/Government of the Presidency of the of the European Union and the Secretary-General of the United Nations. The Conference will be re-convened on plenary session by the Permanent Co-Chairmen on the recommendation of the Co-Chairmen of the Steering Committee.

STEERING COMMITTEE

2. A high-level Steering Committee will be set up. The Co-Chairmen will be a representative of the Secretary-General of the United Nations and a representative of the Presidency of the European Community. It will include representatives of the Troika of the European Community, the Troika of the CSCE, the five permanent members of the UN Security Council, and one representative from the OIC, two representatives from the neighbouring States and Lord Carrington. It will meet at the request of the Co-Chairmen to guide the work of the Conference and to coordinate its work with related work in other organizations.

THE OFFICE OF THE CO-CHAIRMEN

- 3. The Co-Chairmen of the Steering Committee will be assisted by the Chairmen of the Working Groups (on which see below). They will work in continuous session at the Office of the United Nations in Geneva. The Co-Chairmen will direct the Working Groups and prepare the basis for a general settlement and associated measures. They will also meet as necessary with representatives from the former Yugoslavia, who will attend meetings without preconditions.
- 4. There will be six Working Groups in continuous session at the Office of the United Nations in Geneva:
- (a) Bosnia-Herzegovina Working Group. The Group's task is to promote a cessation of hostilities and a constitutional settlement in Bosnia-Herzegovina;
- (b) Humanitarian Issues Working Group. The Group's task is to promote humanitarian relief in all its aspects, including refugees;
- (c) Ethnic and National Communities and Minorities Working Group. The Group's task is to recommend initiatives for resolving ethnic questions in the former Yugoslavia. A special group on the former autonomous province of Kosovo will be set up;
- (d) Succession Issues Working Group. The Group's task is to resolve succession issues arising from the emergence of new states on the territory of the former Yugoslavia;
- (e) Economic Issues Working Group. The Group's task is to address economic issues arising from the emergence of new states in the territory of the former Yugoslavia.
- (f) Confidence and Security-building and Verification Measures Working Group. The Group's task are to develop confidence-building measures covering military movements, arms control and arms transfers and limitations, and measures for their monitoring and verification.

ARBITRATION COMMISSION

5. The Conference will seek the continued assistance of the Arbitration Commission.

SECRETARIAT

6. A small Secretariat will be established at the Office of the United Nations in Geneva. It will be headed by an Executive Director. It will be staffed by personnel from the United Nations and from the European Community.

COSTS

7. Participants in the Conference agree to bear the costs related to the administrative implementation of this Work Programme and the provision of the Secretariat, with a scale of contributions to be approved by the Steering Committee.

Work Programme of the Conference - Addendum The London Conference 27 August 1992

The attached Memorandum addressed to the Co-Chairmen of the Conference should be attached to LC/C4 (FINAL)

Memorandum to the Co-Chairmen of the London Conference Subject: The Draft Action Programme

LC/C4 (Revise) 26 August 1992

Ref: p. 1 para 2, Steering Committee

The undersigned Ministers have agreed the following formula for selection of the representative for the "neighbouring States":

- 1. Given the fact that there will be two seats for "Neighbouring Countries", one will be allocated to the Community Countries, Italy and Greece, the other one to non-Community Countries. Italy and Greece have decided on their own rotation system, on a six months basis.
- 2. The Representatives of the non-Community neighbouring States have agreed to the following representation on the Steering Committee:
- a. the system will be based on rotation in alphabetical order (English alphabet) with Romania starting the process;
- b) the tenure will be for a period of three months;
- c) it has been agreed that the member representing the non-Community neighbouring States in the Steering Committee will keep the representatives of the other neighbouring States informed in a timely fashion so as to ensure complete collaboration and the best possible hand-over of responsibilities to the next appointee.

ALBANIA AUSTRIA BULGARIA HUNGARY ROMANIA GREECE ITALY