Agreement

President Izetbegovic, Dr. Silajdzic, Mr. Boban and Prime Minister Akmadzic hereby agree as follows:

- Upon the signing of the comprehensive peace package by President Izetbegovic, both sides agree that all provinces will be considered a part of the Republic of Bosnia and Herzegovina and will not be considered national territories.
- 2. During the period of interim government, both sides agree to fully respect the authorized decisions of the Presidency and the Government of the Republic of Bosnia and Herzegovina.
- 3. Once the peace agreements have been signed, the parties agree to fly the current flag of the Republic of Bosnia and Herzegovina along the international borders of the Republic of Bosnia and Herzegovina and on all public buildings of Bosnia and Herzegovina until a flag has been agreed by all the parties under the new constitution.
- 4. The responsibilities of the Presidency, the Government of the Republic of Bosnia and Herzegovina and the Provinces will be in accordance with the letter and spirit of the Constitutional Principles agreed and signed by the parties.
- 5. In the light of General Nambiar's letter dated 1 March 1993 on the control of heavy weapons (see appendix), President Izetbegovic has agreed to sign the military agreement.
- 6. The parties agree that the institution of the Presidency shall be preserved during the period of interim government. There will be nine members on the interim Presidency, with three representatives from each of the three constituent peoples. Since the Republic of Bosnia and Herzegovina is to be demilitarized as provided for in Constitutional Principle No. 7, the Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces will not continue to serve in the interim Presidency.
- 7. The nine members of the interim Presidency shall designate one member to serve as President of the Presidency. The President will perform the role of head of State. The position of President will rotate every six months among the three constituent peoples in accordance with the existing sequence of rotation (Muslim, Croat and Serb).
- 8. The interim Presidency will take its decisions by consensus of nine, by a qualified majority of seven or by a simple majority of five depending on whether the decision relates to a constitutional principle, or specially important questions, or to normal business of the Presidency. If the members of the interim Presidency are unable to agree on the applicable majority, they will consult the Co-Chairmen whose decision will be binding.

- 9. The parties have submitted the following six names to serve in the interim Presidency: Fikret Abdic, Mile Akmadzic, Franjo Boras, Ejup Ganic, Alija Izetbegovic and Miro Lasic. The Co-Chairmen will ask the Bosnian Serbs to propose three Serb representatives to serve on the Presidency.
- 10. The parties agree that in the interim period the continuity of the legal institutions of the Republic of Bosnia and Herzegovina will be preserved to the extent possible and compatible with the nine Constitutional Principles.

Dated: 3 March 1993

(Signed) Alija IZETBEGOVIC (Signed) Mate BOBAN

(Signed) Haris SILAJDZIC (Signed) Mile AKMADZIC