Joint Declaration of the Denuclearization of the Korean Peninsula

The South and the North,

Desiring to eliminate the danger of nuclear war through denuclearization of the Korean peninsula, and thus create an environment and conditions favorable for peace and peaceful unification of our country and contribute to peace and security in Asia and the world.

Declare as follows:

- 1. The South and the North shall not test, manufacture, produce, receive, possess, store, deploy or use nuclear weapons.
- 2. The South and the North shall use nuclear energy solely for peaceful purposes.
- 3. The South and the North shall not possess nuclear reprocessing and uranium enrichment facilities.
- 4. The South and the North, in order to verify the denuclearization of the Korean peninsula, shall conduct inspection of the objects selected by the other side and agreed upon between the two sides, in accordance with procedures and methods to be determined by the South-North Joint Nuclear Control Commission.
- 5. The South and the North, in order to implement this joint declaration, shall establish and operate a South-North Joint Nuclear Control Commission within one (1) month of the effectuation of this joint declaration.
- 6. This Joint Declaration shall enter into force as of the day the two sides exchange appropriate instruments following the completion of their respective procedures for bringing it into effect.

Signed on January 20, 1992

Chung Won-shik, Prime Minister of the Republic of Korea, Chief delegate of the South delegation to the South-North High-Level Talks

Yon Hyong-muk, Premier of the Administration Council of the Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Head of the North delegation to the South-North High-Level Talks