DECISION A/DEC.3/11/90 RELATING TO THE CONCLUSION OF AN AGREEMENT ON THE STATUS OF THE ECOWAS CEASEFIRE MONITORING GROUP (ECOMOG) BETWEEN THE COMMUNITY AND THE INTERIM GOVERNMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF LIBERIA

THE AUTHORITY OF HEADS OF STATE AND GOVERNMENT

MINDFUL of Article 5 of the ECOWAS Treaty establishing the Authority of Heads of State and Government and defining its composition and functions;

RECALLING Decision A/DEC 9/5/90 of 30 May, 1990 of the Authority of Heads of State and Government on the establishment of the Community Standing Mediation Committee;

AWARE of Decision A/DEC.1/8/90 of 7 August, 1990 of the Community Standing Mediation Committee on the ceasefire and the institution of an ECOWAS Ceasefire Monitoring Group (ECOMOG) in Liberia;

AWARE also of Decision A/DEC.2/8/90 of 7 August, 1990 of the Community Standing Mediation Committee relating to the formation of an Interim Government in the Republic of Liberia;

CONSIDERING the need for ECOWAS to define, in agreement with the Interim Government set up in Liberia, the status of the ECOWAS Ceasefire Monitoring Group (ECOMOG) in order to allow ECOMOG to carry out Its operations throughout Liberian territory under the conditions stipulated in Decision A/DEC.1/8/90 of 7 August 1990 quoted above;

DECIDES

ARTICLE 1

The ECOWAS Executive Secretary shall take all necessary steps to conclude an Agreement on the status of the ECOWAS Ceasefire Monitoring Group (ECOMOG) between the Community and the Interim Government of Republic of Liberia.

ARTICLE 2

The status of ECOMOG in Liberia shall be defined in accordance with the provisions of Decision A/DEC.1/8/90 of the Community Standing Mediation Committee dated 7 August 1990.

ARTICLE 3

The ECOWAS Executive Secretary shall be responsible for the implementation of this decision which shall enter into force upon signature and shall be published In the Official Journal of the Community and in the National Gazette of each Member State.

DONE AT BAMAKO THIS 28TH DAY OF NOVEMBER 1990 H. E. ALHAJI SIR DAWDA KAIRABA JAWARA CHAIRMAN FOR THE AUTHORITY