## SSA-S Government 11-point peace agreement

## 16 January 2012

RCSS/SSA and Union-Level Peace-making group signed an eleven-point peace agreement in Taunggyi, the capital of Shan State, on 16 Jan 2012.

Unofficial Translation		

- To allow RCSS/SSA headquarters in Homain sub-township and Mong Hta subtownship.
- 2. The government troops to negotiate and arrange in order that RCSS/SSA troops and their families be resettled in the locations mentioned in No. 1
- 3. RCSS/SSA will appoint village heads in the region; for township level administration the village heads will cooperate with government officials
- Government soldiers in Homain sub-township and Mong Hta sub-township to give help to RCSS/SSA; Both sides will discuss and negotiate to arrange for the security of RCSS/SSA leaders
- 5. Government troops and RCSS/SSA to negotiate to designate areas where they can enter in border areas
- 6. Each side agreed to inform the other side in advance if one side wants to enter the other's control area with weapons
- 7. To open liaison offices between the government and SSA-S in Taunggyi, Kholam, Kengtung, Mong Hsat and Tachileik and trading offices in Muse and Nanhkan
- 8. Government ministers to arrange for SSA-S members to run businesses and companies in accord with existing policies, by providing helps and supporting required technology
- 9. To cooperate with the union government for regional development
- 10. To cooperate with the government in making plan for battling drug trafficking
- 11. The government and RCSS/SSA agreed in principle to the points discussed on January 16, 2012. Points will also be discussed in the coming second union-level meeting