## Agreement between the GoN and the Adivasi Tharu Community agitating in the Terai and NepalAdivasi Janajati Mahasangha

On March 14, 2009, in the presence of the Honourable Prime Minister, the following agreement was reached between the representatives of the Government of Nepal and the representatives of the indigenous Tharu communities agitating in the Terai and Nepal Adivasi Janajati Mahasangha [Nepal Federation of Indigenous Nationalities]:

- 1. The Government of Nepal is clear about the fact that all indigenous nationalities, Madheshis, *Dalits*, Muslims, minority communities in the country, including the indigenous Tharus of the Terai, have their own unique identities. Thus, the prevalent constitutional and legal provisions that encumber and overshadow their independent identities shall be amended by following the necessary process.
- 2. Remaining committed to the provision of Clause (d1) of Article 33 of the Interim Constitution of Nepal 2063 that mentions 'to enable Madheshi, *Dalits*, indigenous ethnic groups [Adivasi Janajati], women, labourers, farmers, the physically impaired, disadvantages classes and disadvantaged regions to participate in all organs of the State structure on the basis of proportional inclusion', the Acts issued through ordinances, including the Police Act, the Armed Police Act, the Army Act, the Education Act, the Development Act, the Health Services Act and the Nepal Essential Services Act, shall be amended by following the necessary process.
- The Government of Nepal shall declare Kamal Chaudhary, Bipin Chhetri, Ram Prasad Chaudhari and Prakash Chaudhari, who lost their lives during the movement of the indigenous Tharu communities, as martyrs and shall provide suitable financial assistance to their families.

- 4. The Government of Nepal shall bear entire medical expenses of the persons who sustained injuries and provide compensation to those who lost property in the course of the movement.
- 5. The Ministry of Home Affairs has been directed to immediately release the people arrested during the movement.
- 6. All agitation programmes launched by organisations, including the Tharu Kalyankari Sabha [Tharu Welfare Council], Tharuhat Samyukta Sangharsha Samiti [Tharuhat Joint Struggle Committee], Nepal Loktantrik Tharu Sangha [Nepal Democratic Tharu Association], Tharu Rastriya Mukti Morcha Nepal [Tharu National Liberation Front Nepal] and Nepal Adivasi Janajati Mahasangha [Nepal Federation of Indigenous Nationalities], are withdrawn effective from today.

Sd. Laxman Tharu Talks Team Coordinator Tharuhat Samyukta Sangharsha Samiti and Adivasi Sangha	Sd. Rajkumar Lekhi Talks Team Coordinator General Secretary Tharu Kalyankari Sabha	Sd. Janardhan Sharma 'Prabhakar' Talks Team Coordinator Minister Ministry of Peace and Reconstruction
Sd. Baburam Chaudhary	Sd. Pasang Sherpa Chairperson	Government of Nepal
Talks Team Coordinator Nepal Loktantrik Tharu Sangha	Nepal Adivasi Janajati Mahasangha	Sd. Indrajeet Tharu Talks Team Coordinator General Secretary Tharu Rastriya Mukti Morcha Nepal