Agreement between the Government of the Russian Federation, the Government of the People's Republic of China, and the Government of Mongolia on the determination of the points of junction of the national borders of the three states

Ulaanbaatar, 27 January 1994

The Government of the Russian Federation, the Government of China Republic of China and the Government of Mongolia, hereinafter referred to as the Contracting Parties,

In order to strengthen and develop friendly and good-neighborly relations between the three States,

Guided by the principles of mutual respect for sovereignty, territorial integrity, equality and mutual benefit, and peaceful coexistence,

In an effort to make the border areas of the three states a zone of lasting peace, friendship and cooperation,

On the basis of the need for a treaty determining the points of junction of the national borders of the three states,

In accordance with the Agreement on the Eastern Section of the Boundary between the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics and the People's Republic of China of 16 May 1991, as well as relevant Russian and Chinese Treaties on the border between the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics and the People's Republic of Mongolia in the western section from mark 4104.0 at the top of Mount Tavan Bogd-Ula (Tavan Bogd) to the top of Askhatiin-Dabani Ridge (Asgat Pass Ridge) going east to mark 2855.8 on the top of Big Sayan Ridge to Tarvagan Dah of 19 October 1976, and the Treaty on the State Border between the People's Republic of Mongolia and the People's Republic of China of 26 December 1962.

Have agreed on the following:

Article 1

The eastern junction of the border between China, Russia and Mongolia is located in the centre of Tarbes-Dah at the height of 645. This point is located about 5km south of the territory of the Russian Federation marked at height 741.4, approximately 14.8km north of the territory of Mount Xilin Haolayin-Ula located in the People's Republic of China at 709 and approximately 6.1km east-north-east of the territory in Mongolia at 692.4.

At the east junction of the three borders (Tarbes-Dah) a boundary marker will be set, consisting of a single border post at number '0'). The rectangular coordinates of the east point of junction of the frontiers of the three states are determined instrumentally.

Article 2

The west point of junction between Russia, China and Mongolia is on the top of Mt. Tavan Bogd-Ula (Kuytunshan, Tavan Bogd-Ula) marked at 4082.0 and (4104.0). This point is located approximately 9.4km west-southwest of the Russian territory marked at 3511.5, about 4.8km north-northeast of the Chinese territory marked at 3608.0 and approximately 6.1km west-northwest of Mongolian territory marked at the height of 3884.0.

The Contracting Parties have agreed not to mark the west point junction on the ground between the three states. The Rectangular coordinates of the west point junction the borders of three states is determined instrumentally.

Article 3

Referred to in article 1 of this Agreement the Eastern Point border junction of the three states is shown on the map of the Russian party with the scale of 1:100000, the 1981 edition (annex 1).

- 1. Referred to in article 2 of this Agreement the Western border junction point of the three states is shown on the map of the Russian party with the scale of 1:100000, the 1982 edition (annex 2).
- These maps are the annexed to this Agreement. The above-mentioned distance and points heights are on the Maps.
 The geographical names are designated in the Russian, Chinese and Mongolian languages.

Article 4

To determine the specific provisions of the two junction points of the state borders of the Russian Federation, China and Mongolia, the parties decided to establish a joint working group responsible for the establishment of protocols and descriptions of the two border junctions of the three States, annexed to the Protocol and the description of the East border junction on the Map on the scale 1:10000, annexed to the protocol, and the description of West border junction on the maps on the scale 1:25000, to be installed at East border junction at "Tarbes-Dah" and the protocol specified border mark.

The above Protocols, descriptions attached to the map and the protocol of the border plate signed by the Contracting Parties. After the entry into force of the specified the documentation the work of the Joint Working Group is complete.

The present Agreement shall enter into force from the moment of signing.

Done in Ulaanbaatar on 27 January 1994 in three copies, each in the Russian and Chinese and Mongolian languages, all three texts are of equal force.

(Signatures)

[NON-OFFICIAL TRANSLATION: POLITICAL SETTLEMENTS RESEARCH PROGRAMME]

Source: LawRU, http://old.lawru.info/base33/part6/d33ru6020.htm