PA-X, Peace Agreement Access Tool (Translation © University of Edinburgh) www.peaceagreements.org

AGREEMENT

Didier Ratsiraka, President of the Republic, candidate for the presidency of the Republic of Madagascar, on one side,

Marc Ravalomanana, candidate for the presidency of the Republic of Madagascar on the other,

Endorsed by the Organization for African Unity (OAU) represented by its Secretary-General, Mr. Amara Essy, and the United Nations, represented by Mr. Ibrahima Fall, Personal Representative of the Secretary-General, all assisted by undersigned state leaders acting as facilitators,

Have agreed to adopt the following:

Considering Judgement n°4 of April 16th, 2002 of the Administrative Chamber of the Supreme Court, whose implementation requires a different voting system.

Article 1.

The parties agree that if no candidate has obtained the majority required to be elected in the first ballot, a popular referendum on the choice between the two candidates will be organized with the assistance of the United Nations, the OAU, the European Union, and the international community within a maximum of six months.

Article 2.

Under these conditions, a transitional government will be set up according to the following principles:

- PM to be appointed by mutual agreement between Didier Ratsiraka and Marc Ravalomanana

- for each of the five ministries of sovereignty, Mr. Ravalomanana will propose two candidates to those of Interior and Finances,

- all the other members of the government will be appointed by mutual agreement, half by Didier Ratsiraka and the other half by Marc Ravalomanana.

Article 3.

The two parties agree, as soon as the results are announced, to set up a High Council for Transition, whose mission is to ensure that the transition takes place smoothly. Mr Marc Ravalomanana is appointed as the President of this institution, with the rank of second highest state official.

Article 4.

In place of the current National Electoral Committee (CNE), an independent Electoral Commission is hereby established to prepare and organize the popular vote.

Article 5.

With the signing of this agreement, Messrs. Didier Ratsiraka and Marc Ravalomanana undertake to enforce the freedom of movement of goods and persons, as well as the immediate cessation of all

PA-X, Peace Agreement Access Tool (Translation © University of Edinburgh) www.peaceagreements.org

threats and violence against persons and property, including the bombing of bridges and dams throughout the national territory.

Signed in Dakar on 18 April 2002

See below the signatures of:

Mr Didier Ratsiraka

Mr Marc Ravalomanana

Mr. Amara Essy, Secretary General of the OAU

Mr. Ibrahima Fall, Personal Representative of the Secretary General

Abdoulaye Wade, President of the Republic of Senegal, on behalf of the state leaders acting as facilitators

Mathieu Kérékou (Benin), Laurent Gbagbo (Ivory Coast), Joaquim Alberto Chissano (Mozambique).