DAKAR II AGREEMENT

1. Considering the current situation of the National Assembly, of which some sixty members, of all political orientations, with the camp of Mr. Ravalomanana on one side, and on the other the expected renewal of the National Assembly mid-next year, the parties agree to hold early general mixed voting one-round elections. These elections will be organized by an Independent Electoral Commission (as stipulated by "Dakar I"), and with international electoral assistance. The date of these elections is 22 September 2002.

2. A transitional government will be established until the final results of the legislative elections are declared. This government, which becomes effective upon signature of this Agreement, will be headed by a Prime Minister appointed by Mr. Ravalomanana, acting through, while the rest of the Government (see attached list of members) will be designated based on parity between the two main protagonists of the Malagasy political crisis: Messrs. Ratsiraka and Ravalomanana.

3. The two Leaders, Ratsiraka and Ravalomanana, agree to lead, in the spirit of national reconciliation, a Presidential Council whose mission is to ensure the faithful implementation of this Agreement. During this period, a Monitoring Committee will be set up. It will be composed of the state leaders acting as facilitators, Messrs. Ratsiraka and Ravalomanana, the OAU Secretary-General, and the Personal Representative of the UN Secretary-General.

4. The governors of the six provinces are designated as follows:

- Province of Tulear: Mr or Mrs
- Province of Fianarantsoa: Mr or Mrs
- Province of Majunga: Mr. or Mrs.
- Province of Antsiranana: Mr. or Mrs.
- Toamasina Province: Mr. or Mrs.
- Province of Antananarivo: Mr or Mrs

5. In the event that Mr. Ravalomanana's coalition wins the legislative elections, Mr. Ratsiraka agrees to recognize Mr. Ravalomanana as President of the Republic of Madagascar, legitimized by the majority he has just won.

6. If, on the other hand, Mr. Ratsiraka's side wins the legislative elections, both parties agree that a referendum will be organized to ask the people to choose a President of the Republic between Mr. Ravalomanana and Mr. Ratsiraka.

7. Until the legislative elections, the Prime Minister herein designated represents the Malagasy State at an African level and international level, in particular at the forthcoming OAU summit.

8. The Malagasy leaders Ratsiraka and Ravalomanana pledge to immediately remove roadblocks, dismantle militias, stop all forms of violence, and release all those arrested as a cause of the political crisis.

9. This Agreement will be submitted to the United Nations Security Council. The two signatory Malagasy parties are required to scrupulously respect all the provisions, including the annexes.

PA-X Peace Agreement Access Tool www.peaceagreements.org

Any action or initiative contrary to this Agreement will be the subject of a request for international sanction by the Monitoring Committee.

10. On the basis of this Political Agreement, the state leaders acting as facilitators and the OAU recommend to all development partners to unfreeze Madagascar's external assets in favour of the Government herein established. They also urge them to provide urgent financial support for the reconstruction of Madagascar.

Signed in Dakar on 9 June 2002

SIGNED

Mr Marc RAVALOMANANA - Mr Didier RATSIRAKA

IN THE PRESENCE OF

From the state leaders acting as facilitators:

HE Mr. Abdoulaye WADE, Coordinator

HE El Hadj Omar BONGO, HE Denis Sassou NGUESSO, HE Laurent GBAGBO, HE Blaise COMPAORE

Mr. Amara ESSY, Secretary-General of the OAU; Mr. Ibrahima FALL, Personal Representative of the Secretary-General of the United Nations.