ADDITIONAL PROTOCOL TO THE ABUJA ACCORD OF 1 NOVEMBER 1998 CONCERNING THE FORMATION OF THE GOVERNMENT OF NATIONAL UNITY OF GUINEA-BISSAU

The two parties to the conflict in Guinea-Bissau, meeting at Lomé on 14 and 15 December 1998 in the framework of the implementation of the Abuja Accord between the Government of Guinea-Bissau and the Self-Proclaimed Military Junta, agree by the present additional protocol to form a Government of National Unity according to the following structure and distribution:

1. Ministries to be provided for by the President of the Republic of Guinea-Bissau:

Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation

Ministry of Justice and Labour

Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Natural Resources

Ministry of Education, Youth, Culture and Sports

Ministry of Health and Social Affairs

Secretariat of State for Energy, National Resources and Environment

Secretariat of State for Transport and Communications

Secretariat of State for Administrative Reform and Public Service

2. Ministries to be provided for by the Chief of the Self-Proclaimed Military Junta:

Ministry of Defence and for Freedom Fighters of the Country

Ministry of Internal Administration

Ministry of Economy and Finance

Ministry of Social Welfare

Secretariat of State for the Treasury

Secretariat of State for Commerce, Industry, Tourism, Arts and Crafts

Secretariat of State for Social Communication and Parliamentary Affairs

Secretariat of State for Freedom Fighters of the Country

3. The two sides are committed to forming this Government in the soonest possible timeframe. 4. They reaffirm the necessity for the speedy deployment of the ECOWAS Monitoring Group in Guinea-Bissau, and agree to cooperate to this effect.

DONE at Lomé on 15 December 1998 in four original copies.

(Signed) H.E. Joao Bernardo VIEIRA President of the Republic of Guinea-Bissau (Signed) General Ansumane MANE Commander of the Self-Proclaimed Military Junta

In the presence of:

(Signed) H.E. Gnassingbe EYADEMA President of the Togolese Republic

(Signed) General Lamine CISSE Minister of Interior of the Republic of Senegal (Signed) H.E. Tounkara YAHAYA Minister of National Defence of the Republic of Niger

(Signed) H.E. Vincent OKOBI Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary Ambassador of the Federal Republic of Nigeria in Togo, Representing the Head of State, Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (Signed) H.E. Lansana KOUYATE Executive Secretary of the Economic Community of West African States