## THE NORTH WEST FRONTIER PROVINCE GOVERNMENT'S AGREEMENT WITH THE TALIBAN

## 21 May 2008

- 1. Taliban of Swat will accept the writ of the provincial and central governments of Pakistan and will remain in the ambit of that
- 2. Shariat-e-Muhammadi will be implemented in Malakand Division
- 3. No one will attack other's religion
- 4. Prisoners will be released after reviewing the cases against them
- 5. Government machinery, law enforcement agencies, government officials, buildings and installations, police stations, policemen, police lines, army, Frontier Corps, Frontier Constabulary, bridges, roads, and electricity installations will not be attacked; there will be a complete ban on keeping private militias, there will be no suicide attacks, there will be no blasts in personal or governmental buildings, and there will be no remote-controlled bomb blasts
- 6. Army withdrawal will be gradual keeping in view the security situation in the area
- 7. Non-local militants will be immediately handed over to the government. Attacks on barber shops and markets visited by women should be stopped
- 8. Government will compensate the deserving people affected by the operation in Swat
- 9. There will be no ban on health teams administering vaccination or drops to children against diseases like polio. There will be no ban on girls' education
- 10. There will be complete ban on display of arms and only arms having licence would be allowed
- 11. Kidnapping and car lifting should be condemned and eliminated. All centres used for training militants and use of explosives must be eliminated
- 12. Speeches will be allowed only on that FM radio having licence
- 13. Local Taliban will cooperate with government in investigations of cases against those involved in murders, dacoities and kidnapping
- 14. The government will take action against thieves, dacoits, kidnappers and others involved in such crimes

- 15. Imam Dheri will be converted into an Islamic university under the management of a committee comprising representatives of government and Taliban
- 16. Minister for Environment Wajid Ali Khan, Dr Shamsher Ali Khan, DIG of Malakand, and DPO of Swat from the government's side and Muhammad Amin, Ali Bakht, Muslim Khan, Mehmood Khan and Nisar Khan from Taliban side are members of the committee to oversee implementation of the agreement.

Source: Daily Times (Pakistani Newspaper), 22 May 2008