## NMSP Government 5-point State-level Peace Agreement

## 1 February 2012

State-level peace talks on initial peace making held at Strand Hotel in Mawlamyine was attended by the Union level peace-making group comprising Union Minister U Aung Min, Union Minister U Soe Thein, Union Minister U Zaw Min, State Chief Minister U Ohn Myint, Commander of South-East Command Maj-Gen Tin Maung Win, Mon State Minister for Security and Border Affairs Col Htay Myint Aung, the General Staff Officer (Grade-I) (People's Militia), the Mon State Advocate-General, the secretary of on State Government and officials and the NMSP peacemaking group comprising Vice-Chairman U Nai Rawsa and party and peace negotiators of both sides.

A five-member team led by Col Htay Myint Aung of the state level peace-making group and a seven-member team led by Vice-Chairman U Nai Rawsa agreed five-point initial agreement. The NMSP peace-making group signed the initial agreement in the presence of the Union level peace-making group and they said that they will sign the approval of the agreement in the third week of February 2012 after seeking approval from the New Mon State Party.

The five-point initial agreement signed between the state-level government and NMSP is as follow:

- 1. to make ceasefire between both sides,
- 2. to officially form the delegation to hold talks with Union level peace-making group and to coordinate date, time and place for the talks,
- 3. to open liaison offices at suitable places (without arms) where both sides agree,
- 4. not to transgress the regions with arms apart from the mutually agreed areas,
- 5. to accommodate the group at the designated places that both sides have agreed.