# Agreement of the Third Round Negotiations between the Government of Nepal and CPN (Maoists) at the Prime Minister's Baluwatar

The following agreement has been reached between the Government of Nepal and the CPN (Maoists):

Ensuring the people's rights obtained by the people through the people's movement in 1990, the commitment expressed in 12 points understanding between the Seven Political Parties and the CPN (Maoists) and democratic rights achieved through the recently held historical peoples movement, the interim constitution drafting committee as follow has been formed to prepare a draft of the interim constitution as per the spirit of preamble of the Code of Conduct agreed between the Government of Nepal and the CPN (Maoists) on 26 May 2006:-

	1.	Coordinator	Mr. Laxman	Prasad 2	Arva
--	----	-------------	------------	----------	------

- 2. Member Mr. Harihar Dahal
- 3. Member Mr. Sindhu Nath Pyakurel
- 4. Member Mr. Sambhu Thapa
- 5. Member Mr. Mahadev Yadav
- 6. Member Mr. Khimlal Devkota

The committee shall prepare and present a draft to the Government-Maoist Negotiating Team within 15 days and the Negotiating team shall submit the draft to the Government -Maoists high level negotiation as per the direction of the negotiation.

On behalf of the CPN-Maoist

Coordinator: Krishna Bahadur Mahara

Signature: Sd 16 June 2006

On behalf of the Government of Nepal

Coordinator: Krishna Prasad Sitaula

Signature: Sd 16 June 2006

# **Eight-Point Agreement of the Top leaders**

## (Press Statement)

Meeting of the top leaders of Seven Political Parties and CPN (Maoists) has been held in the Prime Minister's residence at Baluwatar today, on 16 June 2006 on the auspicious organization of the Government - Maoists Negotiating Team. The points reached in agreement in the meeting are as follow:-

- 1. To implement effectively and honestly the 12-points understanding reached between the Seven Political Parties and the CPN (Maoists) on November 22, 2005 and the 25-points Code of Conduct on Ceasefire reached in agreement between the Government of Nepal and CPN (Maoists) and made public by the Government -Maoist Negotiating team on 26 May 2006.
- 2. To express the commitment to democratic norms and values including competitive multi-party governance system, civic liberties, fundamental rights, human rights, press freedom, and the concept of rule of law, and carry out each other's activities accordingly in a peaceful manner.
- 3. To request the United Nations to assist in the management of the armies and arms of both the parties and to monitor them for a free and fair election of the Constituent Assembly.
- 4. To frame an interim constitution to form an interim government accordingly; announce the date of the election for constituent assembly to dissolve the House of Representatives by making another alternative arrangement through consensus and to dissolve the People's Governments formed by the CPN (Maoists). by ensuring the democratic rights achieved through the Peoples Movement in 1990 and the recent historic People's Movement, and by making base to the commitment expressed in the 12-points understanding and the spirit of the preamble of the Code of Conduct on Ceasefire;
- 5. To decide on the matters of national interests having long-term effects on the basis of consensus.
- 6. To guarantee the fundamental right of Nepali people to participate in the constitution making process without any fear, influence, threat and violence in the election of constituent assembly. To make a provision for international observation and monitoring during the elections as per the need.
- 7. To make a forward-looking restructuring of the state so as to resolve the class-based, racial, regional and gender-based problems through the election of constituent assembly. To transform the ceasefire held between the Government of Nepal and CPN(Maoists) into a permanent peace by keeping in the centre the democracy, peace, prosperity, progress and the independence, sovereignty and dignity of the country, and to express commitment to resolve the problem through negotiations.
- 8. The government-Maoist negotiating teams have been directed to accomplish all the tasks related to the above-mentioned points without any delay.

## On behalf of CPN (Maoists)

Prachanda Chairman CPN (Maoists)

## On behalf of the Seven Political Parties

Shree Girija Prasad Koirala Prime Minister and President, Nepali Congress

Shree Madhav Kumar Nepal General Secretary, CPN (UML)

Shree Sher Bahadur Deuba President, Nepali Congress (Democratic)

Shree Amik Sherchan Deputy Prime Minister and Chairperson, Janamorcha Nepal

Shree Narayan Man Bijhuckchhe President, Nepal Majdur Kisan Party

Shree Bharat Bimal Yadav Vice President, Nepal Sadbhavana Party (Anandidevi)

Shree Prabhu Narayan Chaudary Minister and Chairperson Bammorcha, Nepal.